Cabbagetown Private Garden Tour

The past Sunday, I joined Hidden Gardens & Private Spaces Tour of Cabbagetown in Toronto. It was ashamed that I’ve never visited this neighbourhood before even though I’ve been living in Toronto for 15+ years. It was a very nice day out visiting some beautiful and lovely private gardens. I am sure this won’t be the last time I visit it.

First up, container gardening, vegetables in containers, totally my cup of tea:

BEAUTIFUL purple double clematis, it was stunning, I’ve been trying to have one of these in my garden:

Seems so effortless, yet very thoughtful:

Quiet zen water garden, my favourite too:

A small collection of succulents:

Vertical wall garden, the container bags are actually made of felt fabric:

Formal garden for a corner house:

Informal garden for the same house, a group of people were playing “Take Five”:

And finally, a rooftop garden:

What I’ve learned from the tour is that gardening takes TIME and PATIENCE, a lot of patience. Some of the owners showed us the picture of the same garden 10 years ago, and how they slowly built it. My garden has a long way to go…

Leave a Reply

